Harnessing Chaos

AtWork-1
At work in the studio.

Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans. ~ John Lennon

For the past month or so, I have been wrestling with a painting. I tried all my usual tricks- sneaking up on it with white paint to “cover up” the parts that were not working, simplifying it, making it more colorful, making it more complex- none of which worked. I ended up with a bit of a mess.

OK, it was down right ugly.

The colors were, frankly, atrocious: acid yellow with earthy teal green, pale pink, weird beige (is beige ever weird? Well, I figured that one out!) and baby boy blue. Their dissonance haunted me for days. In yoga class I would find solutions to the problem, only to not have time to act on them. Finally, this past weekend, I attacked the piece. I knew it needed red, but not just any red: CORAL. That almost-orange-and-almost-salmon color that is gracing all the home decor blogs and catalogs this season.

Oddball
Oddball, acrylic and graphite on wood panel, 20″ x 20″, ©2014 Julia Rymer

 

So there I was, painting some circles on this piece, with each one thinking, oh, crap, there’s another thing I’ll have to fix.

But I kept going. Trying to relate the halves of the work, add points of connection, reference and movement, and balance the color scheme so it stayed weird, but not unnervingly so.

This painting is really about trying to find structure in chaos… at some point making peace with the chaos. Therefore the work is not “pretty,” but it has a jolie laide quality that makes it work. It is not at all what I set out to do, but somehow, I found a way to harness the chaos and coalesce it into a loose sort of structure. That’s why I named it “Oddball.”

 

***********************************************************************************************

I’ve got a lot in the works right now that I’d love to share with you! Join my newsletter to find out about my latest work, art shows and events, and get tips on beautiful art to check out in person and on the web. I would love to connect with you and deliver beauty to your inbox. Sign up here.

 

(I promise I won’t share your email OR send you millions of messages. Expect them about once a month, actually.)

Leave a Reply

